Scheepjes Cal 2016 – An emotional crochet journey

Until recently I’ve never heard of a CAL before. CAL means crochet along and in most cases, designers realease parts of a pattern over a series of weeks. I’ve never done one before but through Id try this one. 


The story behind this one is heartbreaking. Wink, the creator of Scheepjes 2014 CAL unfortunately lost her battle with depression while designing this years CAL so a selection of crochet designers finished it of. I love this design so decided to join in. 
Although the weekly patterns are free you can purchase the packs of yarn. There is three colour ways in two different yarns. One an acrylic and the other a merino wall. I opted for the acrylic dance in the rain option. I love the combination of grey and blue tones that compliment the natural tones in the box. 


Each box contributes a donation to mental health charities which I think is an awesome sentiment. 

Currently we are on week 2. Patterns are released on a Wednesday with pdf instructions and videos. So far so good. After a few gauge problems this week I’ve got off to a flying start. 

I will keep you updated on my progress. If you are creating this item too please get in touch. I’d love to share and discuss our progress. 

Until next time. 

Lizzie xxx 

Leave a Reply

